Things are going to start happening to me now

No, my name’s not in the phonebook.

 

And you should opt-out of phonebook delivery. It’s 2012, people. 

 

So the past year has brought some tremendous changes.

 

Lesley and I are no longer pursuing ministry with the Christian and Missionary Alliance. After a long conversation with their candidate development director, it became clear that our philosophy of ministry didn’t fit very well with the Alliance. That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway. It wasn’t a bad conversation, but it was an odd feeling. For six years we’ve been saying “This is what we’re doing” and now we’re not. It feels good to have the decision settled, though.

 

Since it was no longer necessary to fulfill the Alliance education requirements, I was able to transfer some courses and finish my degree at Fuller earlier than I’d planned, which was great news. My time at Fuller was positive overall. There were (many) times where I felt that the courses weren’t academically rigorous enough, but the relationships I established in my cohort are tremendous. 

 

Part of the reason I felt the way I did about the academics is likely due to the friends I made from Claremont, most of whom are in more advanced degrees, and in different areas of study, like philosophy of religion, or practical theology. Those fields run tandem with most of the topics in the MAGL (my program at Fuller), which were primarily missiology and leadership. I was able to incorporate a lot of what I learned from the Claremont folks, but I often felt like I was having a slightly different conversation than many of my classmates. 

 

So we finished school, and happened upon a house in Albany that we rented an apartment in when we first got married. It had been for sale for a few years, and the price had been lowered to a reasonable amount. So we checked it out, and it was actually better than we remembered. We had hoped to purchase it with some friends and begin an intentional community, but that didn’t work out and we ended up buying it on our own. We worked like crazy for a month, I found some great tenants among my co-workers, and we’re looking to root ourselves in this community for some time. I’ve got a list of people I’d like to connect with in Albany, and at this point I don’t have any idea what the future holds. We’re here, we’ve got stable, flexible jobs, and we’re open to anything. 

 

In the midst of all this, I attended the Emergent Village Theological Conversation, went on a weeklong canoe trip in the Adirondacks, our cat died, and we adopted a dog. His name is Artax, and he is awesome. 

 

So that’s the short update. I’m looking forward to establishing new daily rhythms, writing a bit, reading whatever appeals to me at the moment rather than assigned texts, working on the house, and training my dog while I get to know my neighbors. 

 

Things are going to start happening to me now.

~ by Joe Paparone on June 18, 2012.

3 Responses to “Things are going to start happening to me now”

  1. You never know what the future holds…but yours & Lesley’s looks bright and loving! Happy for you both.

  2. Joe, I am beyond jealous of your situation in life right now! How exciting for you.

  3. Thanks for the update, Joe! You and Lesley-Anne are a beautiful match, made in heaven, I believe! With a heart open to what God has planned for your lives, you will be happy and content, and working for our Savior and Lord. Keep asking God for His guidance, to open and close doors that He chooses, and you will never go wrong. God bless both of you!

Leave a Reply

 
