What I’ll be Reading for next quarter

Looking forward to my two courses next quarter.  Here are the reading lists for each.  If you’ve read any of these books, or taken either of these courses, let me know what you think.

Globalization, the poor, and Christian mission

  1. Giddens, Anthony. Runaway World: How Globalization is Reshaping Our Lives
  2. Steger, Manfred. Globalization: A Very Short Introduction
  3. Chanda, Nayan. Bound Together: How Traders, Preachers, Adventurers and Warriors Shaped Globalization
  4. Cran, William, and Barker, Greg, directors. Commanding Heights: The Battle for the World’s Economy, three-disc PBS DVD
  5. Sachs, Jeffrey D. The End of Poverty: The Economic Possibilities of Our Time
  6. Easterly, William. White Man’s Burden
  7. Collier, Paul. The Bottom Billion: Why the Poorest Countries are Failing and What Can Be Done about I
  8. Zakaria, Fareed. The Post-American World

Mentoring

1. Clinton, J. Robert and Paul Stanley. Connecting: Finding the Mentors You Need to be Successful in Life
2. Egeler, Dan. Mentoring Millennials: Shaping the Next Generation
3. Johnson, W. Brad and Charles R. Ridley. The Elements of Mentoring
4. Zachary, Lois J. The Mentor’s Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships
5. Creps. Earl. Reverse Mentoring: How Young Leaders Can Transform the Church and Why We Should Let Them
6. Toyama, Nikki A., and Tracey Gee. More Than Serving Tea: Asian American Women on Expectations,Relationships, Leadership and Faith
~ by Joe Paparone on November 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “What I’ll be Reading for next quarter”

  1. Wow, Joe! That looks like a pretty hefty list for a single quarter! That is the one thing I don’t miss about school; I loved being challenged to look at new material and new perspectives, and getting to converse on the thoughts that arise, but it always annoyed me to get roped into all the reading with no time left to read anything else. I’d love to hear your thoughts on what you’re reading as you progress through the quarter though.

  2. And I’m not even full time! I hear what you’re saying about other readings, but of the seven courses I’ve taken at Fuller thus far, all with equivalent reading lists, I’d say there are MAYBE four or five books that I disliked substantially, and wish I hadn’t had to read. I’ve been able to get some other ‘casual’ reading in throughout, though, which has been good. Definitely a big jump in required readings from my music education undergrad!

Leave a Reply

 
