Putting Down the Gun

Read this today in “Strengthening the Soul of Your Leadership” by Ruth Haley Barton, which I’m reading for a class at Fuller.

It’s a story from Theophane, a Cistercian monk residing at St. Benedict’s Monastery in Snowmass, Colorado.

I saw a monk working alone in the vegetable garden.  I squatted down beside him and said, “Brother, what is your dream?”  He just looked straight at me.  What a beautiful face he had.
“I would like to become a monk,” he answered.
“But brother, you are a monk, aren’t you?”
“I’ve been here for 25 years, but I still carry a gun.”  He drew a revolver from the holster under his robe.  It looked so strange, a monk carrying a gun.
“And they won’t–are you saying they won’t let you become a monk until you give up your gun?”
“No, it’s not that.  Most of them don’t even know I have it, but I know.”
“Well then, why don’t you give it up?”
“I guess I’ve had it so long.  I’ve been hurt a lot, and I’ve hurt a lot of others.  I don’t think I would be comfortable without this gun.”
“But you seem pretty uncomfortable with it.”
“Yes, pretty uncomfortable, but I have my dream.”
“Why don’t you give me the gun?”  I whispered.  I was beginning to tremble.
He did, he gave it to me.  His tears ran down to the ground and then he embraced me.

Are there things you’re holding onto, things that you think keep you safe, but which are really preventing you from stepping into your dream?  God is inviting you into the glorious freedom of putting down the gun.

~ by Joe Paparone on October 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
