Book notes

Book Write-ups

Updating this blog is harder than I thought.  It really takes a bit of discipline to try and write something regularly.  Also, I think I have a complex regarding my perceived quality of my own writing, so that slows me down.  Anyway, here are some bits about books I’ve read in the past few months.  I’d love to discuss any and all of them with you!

A New Kind of ChristianityBrian McLaren

Love him or hate him, this guy poses some important questions.  Though I’ve been in pretty full agreement with his other books to this point…there are some things in this one I’m not fully sure of.  I think his understanding of the Greco-Roman worldview accurately describes many Christian Westerner’s understandings, but I think he paints too reductionist a picture at points, specifically regarding the Platonic/Aristotelian, six-line, soul-sorting narrative.  I wrote a short letter to him about it for a class here. His discussion of the Bible as ‘inspired constitution’ or ‘inspired library’ is outstanding.

Intuitive LeadershipTim Keel

This one’s a couple years old, but with all the leadership classes I’m taking I tried to squeeze it in and found it very refreshing and helpful.  He also talks about faith experimentation in terms of jazz, which is awesome.  He presents a good examination of post-modernity and post-christendom, and has a great launching point for creative, organic, locally-grown Christian living.

Zeitoun/What is the What – Dave Eggers

I read What is the What a few years ago, and Zeitoun more recently, and I can’t recommend them enough.  What is the What follows Valentino Achak Deng, one of the Lost Boys of Sudan, through his journeys in Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, and Atlanta.  An epic tragedy and it’s still unfolding.  Zeitoun is the true story of Abdulrahman Zeitoun, a man in New Orleans during and shortly after Katrina, arrested without charges and held for 23 days without medical attention or an opportunity to call his family.  He convinces a prison minister to call his family for him.  One brilliant question the book poses: What does it mean to live in a world where the slightest act (a phone call) against an unjust circumstance is an act of heroism?  Get these books and read them.

Eating the Dinosaur – Chuck Klosterman

I like this guy’s style and thinking.  This is a collection of essays on topics ranging from the way the NFL manipulates people’s thinking, a comparison of Kurt Cobain and David Koresh, and the Unabomber.  His “best response to being arrested for carrying an unlicensed handgun into a nightclub and accidentally shooting yourself in the leg, thereby jeopardizing your pro football career” cracks me up.  Take a minute and read it here. (page 120)

~ by Joe Paparone on August 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
