Some tentative first notes

So, I probably picked the worst time to start a blog.  This is the last week of a school quarter for me, and I’ve got a bunch of work to get done.  So the posts are a little slow to come.  But don’t worry!  Once this week is over I’ll be able to invest a little more time here.  In the meantime, here is a *very* loose outline of what’s to come in terms of my thoughts regarding Improv Theology.  If I get a chance, later this week I’ll post another poem and commentary.  Thanks for hanging in there with me!

Improv Theology – 3 areas – overlap in a Venn-diagram, creating a continual feedback loop

Jazz Improv

1 – Basic Tools: Tone, Scales, tunes
2 – Advanced Tools: Chords, transcribed licks, patterns
3 – Chord substitutions, fully improvised lines and melodies

Improv Faith

1 – Scripture, Upward dependance, exclusive community
2 – Context, service, inclusive community
3 – Cross-context, radical sacrificial service, multiplied communities

Again, these are some loose, beginning ideas.  One glaring issue stands out to me immediately, in that the Jazz stages are far more of a progression than the spirituality stages.  There’s still overlap and continual feedback, but it’s less prominent with music.

Would love to hear some initial feedback.  If you’re a musician, please let me know what you think of those stages, and what you think is critical that I’m leaving out.  Similarly, for my spiritual and religious friends, let me know what you think of those three areas in terms of spiritual growth and formation.

I’m looking forward to fleshing this stuff out a bit more!

~ by Joe Paparone on June 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
